Meet the Team

Yuanyuan Zhu

Yuanyuan Zhu

Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering,
and Institute of Materials Science
Director,
InToEMCenter, UConn Tech Park
University of Connecticut

Joint Staff Scientist, Energy and Environment Directorate,
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)

Email yuanyuan.2.zhu@uconn.edu
Phone +1(860)-486-2378
Mailing Address Materials Science and Engineering Attn: Yuanyuan Zhu 97 North Eagleville Road, Unit 3136 Storrs, CT 06269-3136
Office IMS-009B
Campus Storrs
Teaching
  • MSE 2001: Introduction to Structure, Properties, and Processing of Materials I
  • MSE 5323: Transmission Electron Microscopy of Materials

Awards
DOE Early Career award. 2022
Doctoral New Investigator (DNI) award, American Chemical Society. 2020
Best Presentation Award, International Symposium on Advanced Electron Microscopy for Catalysis, Kloster Seeon, Germany. 2014

Appointment
11/2017-08/2018 Staff Scientist, PNNL
04/2015-10/2017 Postdoctoral Research Associate, PNNL
06/2013-03/2015 Postdoctoral Researcher, HaldorTopsøeA/S 

Professional Preparation
2013 Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering, Texas A&M University
2009 M.S., Solid Atomic Imaging Division, Institute of Metal Research
2006 B.S., Metallic Materials Engineering, Sichuan University


Rajat Sainju
Email:
rajat.sainju@uconn.edu
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Materials Science and Engineering


Dr. Monia Nielsen
Email: monia.nielsen@uconn.edu
Postdoc Researcher
Institute of Materials Science

Graham Roberts


Graham Roberts
Email:
graham.roberts@uconn.edu
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Computer Science and Engineering

 

Jingjing Yang
Email:
jingjing.yang@uconn.edu
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

 


Bharath Krupa Teja Mekala
Email:
bharath_krupa_teja.mekala@uconn.edu
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Group Alumni

Samuel Schaefer, B.S., Department of Materials Science and Engineering, current position: Ph.D. Student, Yale University

Megan Jankovsky, B.S., Department of Materials Science and Engineering, current position: Product Developer, Unilever

Steiny Duong, B.S., Department of Materials Science and Engineering, UConn undergrad